2012 favourites

There’s not much left of 2012 so to round it off before we head to The Carpenter’s here are some of my favourite things from this year. First up – music.

Chromatics released ‘Kill for Love’ featuring two of my favourite songs of 2012 – ‘Lady’ and the amazing ‘Birds of Paradise’. They also soundtracked my favourite use of wind turbines this year at the Chanel SS13 show – although Clacton-on-Sea’s offshore wind farm comes a close second.

Other musical highlights included the return of Tame Impala, ‘Amanita’ by Animal Collective, ‘Mature Themes’ by Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, ‘I’ve Got Your Music’ by Saint Etienne and ‘Get a Job’ by Gossip – who also turned in Chef’s fave live show at Shepherd’s Bush Empire back in July. Chef’s favourite video – and surely everyone’s – is Romain Gavras’ incredible desert epic for Bad Girls by MIA – screech.

Best bird of the year of course is Buddy – who has gamely taken cross country travel and novelty photo shoots in her stride, and now intermittently sports heart shaped spots.

Buddy the budgie Xmas 2012

My favourite fashion was the varsity / bomber jacket revival and fave label goes to Kenzo – for perfect patterns and marble effects – so I’m particularly taken with my navy and black double breasted bomber by them – thanks Mum and Dad! Other fashion faves included a burgundy COS cashmere jumper, my bright yellow Hawaiian shirt with the sleeves rolled up and a certain lobster print tshirt.

Kenzo AW12 bomber jacket navy and black

The show Chef enjoyed the most was BMW art drive at a car park in Shoreditch – where I pined for my 1982 635 and then remembered it would never start – and where we were treated to sunset over London from the top storey.

BMW Art Drive Roy Lichtenstein

My fave place of 2012 was the beach in Juan-les-Pins where we dined on the sand – and another favourite courtesy of our honeymoon is my drink of the year – the Negroni which I made an acquaintance with at Lake Como.

dinner on the beach at Juan-les-Pins

When I wasn’t eating or drinking, a hobby that kept me occupied this year was creating optical repeat patterns from photos – you can see a board of them on my Pinterest – and finally, favourite pics of the year are of Sue and me at our wedding in Chelsea by photographer Jas Lehal.

Have a happy new year – Chef’s Kiss!

Leave a Reply

